How to properly move mysql datadir to a new folder

While I thought moving the data folder to another new location is quite simple, but then when restart the mysql I keep getting unusual error. Then I realized on Ubuntu, there is one service called AppArmor that will restrict the access of other service.

Steps for moving the folder.

$sudo /etc/init.d/mysql stop
$sudo su
$mv /var/lib/mysql /newlocation/mysql
$vim /etc/mysql/my.cnf

Change the datadir to the new location, default one is datadir=/var/lib/mysql.

Now modify the AppArmor, this is the part which I totally missed it!

$vim /etc/apparmor.d/usr.sbin.mysqld

Add the new location into for restriction clearance

/newlocation/mysql/ r,
/newlocation/mysql/** rwk,

Restart the services that involved, apparmor and mysql. Done

/$/etc/init.d/apparmor restart
$/etc/init.d/mysql restart
