How I Fixed My Mac OS X Lion Slowness issue

I’m getting relatively slow running speed after I’ve upgraded to Mac OS X Lion and very often still facing some “beach ball” of death.

Here is what I did to speed it up.

1. Firstly, check your Console to check what is the errors keep running can causing the issue.

From my Console, I saw that the org.apache.httpd was keep fail to run and launchd is still keep running it. So what I did is, disable the plist at /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/

2. Getting the error – com.apple.kextd: Can’t create kext cache under / – owner not root. Fixed it by method here.

3. Getting error – mds: (Error) Server: Disabled store registered for scope “/xxx/xxxx”

This is fixed by removing the volume and folders I earlier added in System Preferences > Spotlight > Privacy to prevent Spotlight indexing and causing “ball of death”.

4. After step 3, I get this error – mds: (Warning) Server: No store registered for metascope “kMDQueryScopeComputer”

To fix it by typing below command in terminal:

sudo mdutil -i off /Volumes/RootPartitionName
sudo mdutil -E /Volumes/RootPartitionName
sudo mdutil -i on /Volumes/RootPartitionName
